How to reach your goals: time, motivation & planning


closer

I have noticed a recurring pattern in my life, which probably rings true for you too. That is, if I make the time, and channel my energy into a certain area of my life, the outcome is usually what I had hoped for.

In short, if you allocate the time to focus on the thing you want to achieve, you will eventually reach your goal.

In 2009, I decided I wanted to lose weight and find my ideal body shape. I had a goal and a focus, all I really needed to do was to dedicate the time to achieving it. So, everyday, without fail, I set space in my day to head off to the gym, or get on my yoga mat, or have a swim, or go for a walk. And over time, the results paid off and a year later, I reached my desired goal.

I had undergone no special training, embarked on no regimental regime and even had no particular passion for fitness – I just knew that if I spent my time, doing a little something everyday, I would eventually get to where I wanted to be.

Get some time.

Time can be a bit of a bit of a touchy subject for some. People never seem to have a spare minute to themselves these days, constantly adding more and more tasks to their endless to-do lists.

When I lost weight, I was pretty busy myself working and studying – however, as I wanted to get myself in shape, I made sure that I always managed to squeeze an hour of yoga into my day or a visit to the gym when possible.

I walked to work too, ensuring that I got my daily fix of exercise, even if I had no opportunity to do anything else, at least I had stretched my legs and got some fresh air.

Get motivated.

Motivation levels can easily rise and fall from moment to moment. Reaching a goal, such as a weight loss target, is very much motivation driven as well as time dependent. How much you really want to achieve this is relative to how likely it is to happen.

Tackling your motivation issues early on enables you to take a huge step closer to your goal. As it goes, you will not always be ready and raring to go every single day, but if you look at the bigger picture, and do your little bit now – the effort you made will be well worth it in the future.

Getting motivated is hard work. The fact is you know exactly what you need to do, and how much time you need to devote, but sometimes you just have to forget your excuses, stop thinking about it, and just get on with it. 

Get planning. 

If you work out an initial plan on how best to achieve your goal, results will happen sooner than anticipated. Once I had made the time and found my motivation, I just needed to decide how I wanted to get there.

Planning your initial strategy is helpful, ask yourself questions such as; what time are my favorite classes on at the gym, when is the swimming pool open, when is the best time of the day for me to practice yoga, do I feel more energized in the morning or evening, is my friend free to go for a walk with me today… and so on.

By knowing exactly how you will reach your goal makes the whole process much simpler. And once time and motivation are on your side, there will be no reason why you cannot get to just where you want to be in life.

4 thoughts on “How to reach your goals: time, motivation & planning

  1. Pingback: A year of thebettylife – the ups and downs of 2013 | thebettylife

  2. Sometimes all it takes is just to get to whatever it is you want to do. You may not feel kie doing it on that particular day, but commit to starting, and chances are, you’ll both continue, and be glad you started!
    I find I just need to drag my backside off of the sofa and I’m set!

Share your thoughts

